The Giant Killers

Every F A cup giant killing since 1888


No club has spent more years among the elite of English football than Everton, the Toffeemen having spent just four seasons outside the top tier. And while their trophy haul may not be able to match Liverpool's it is still good enough to make the Toffess the fourth most titled team in the land. Their name has been carved on the English crown nine times in all since their first success in 1891 with titles following in 1915, 1928, 1932, 1939, 1963, 1970, 1985 and 1987 while they have lifted the F A cup on five occasions, 1906, 1933, 1966, 1984 and most recently when Paul Rideout headed the only goal against Manchester United in 1995. Everton's proud record of having spent more time among the best in the land than any other club also brings the downside of them having faced the perils of defeat to lower division opposition in the cup more as well, their name figures in such defeats over thirty times to date, more than any other team with their humbling at Shrewsbury in 2002 standing out as their blackest day. Everton suffered two of the greatest upsets of the pre war era when first Tottenham, in 1904 and then Swindon in 1912 lowered their colours while there were famous post war exits to Sheffield Wednesday in 1947 and Bradford City in 1960. That tradition for banana skins continues with their 2008 exit at home to Oldham joining the list of classics.

Magic Moment


5-3 vs Grimsby Town

Fifth round: Saturday February 14th 1931

Attendance: 65,000

Scorers: Jimmy Stein, Dixie Dean, Jock Johnson

Ranked at the time: 220   

Team: 1:Billy Coggins, 2:Ben Williams, 3:Warney Cresswell, 4:Joe McClure, 5:Charlie Gee, 6:Jock Thompson, 7:Ted Critchley, 8:Jimmy Dunn, 9:Dixie Dean, 10:Tommy Johnson, 11:Jimmy Stein