The Giant Killers

Every F A cup slaying since 1888

Oxford United

Formed: 1893 Headington, 1911: Headington United, 1960: Oxford United
FA Cup
F A cup debut: 1931
First Round debut: 1954
Fifth Round [last 16]: 1982

Football Pyramid
5th tier: [most recent 2010]
4th tier debut: 1962 [most recent 2016]
3rd tier debut: 1966 [current division as of 2018]
2nd tier debut: 1968 [most recent 1998]
Top flight debut: 1985 [most recent 1987]

Football League Cup Winners 1986


3-1 vs Blackburn Rovers

Fifth Round, Saturday, February 15th 1964

Manor Ground, Oxford

Attendance: 21,700

Ranked at the time: 1

Team: 1: Harry Fearnley, 2:Cyril Beavon, 3:Pat Quartermaine, 4:Ron Atkinson, 5:Maurice Kyle, 6:John Shuker, 7:Peter Knight, 8:Arthur Longbottom, 9:Bill Calder, 10:Tony Jones, 11:Colin Harrington, Manager:Arthur Turner


3-2 vs Swansea City

Third Round, Sunday January 10th 2016

Kassam Stadium

Attendance: 11,673

Team: 1:Sam Slocombe, 2:George Baldock, 5:johnny Mullins, 6:Jake Wright, 3:Joe Skarz, 11:Alex MacDonald {replaced by 15:Callum O'Dowda-71}, 8:Liam Sercombe, 18:John Lundstram, 28:Chris Maguire, 20:Ryan Taylor {replaced by 10:Danny Hylton-80}, 4:Kemar Roofe {replaced by 9:Patrick Hoban-80}. Manager: Michael Appleton